Jul 042014
 

If you don’t know the story of the Junction Boys, it takes place in September, 1954. Texas A&M coach Paul “Bear” Bryant took his team to a small Texas town for a 10 day training camp.

Bryant was a new coach and felt his team was a little soft, weak and not well coached. He felt there were too many distractions on campus and wanted a place where his team could focus on football, and only football. He chose Junction, Texas, a town going through a heat wave and a drought.

Over the course of the ten days, the team dropped from around 100 players to around 30. The story has been made into a book and a movie.

Why do we bring this up? Because our UCLA Bruins will be going through their own “junction” experience. The new training camp schedule has just been released so here you go:

On the campus of Cal State San Bernardino:

Monday, August 4 – Practice #1, 3:00 p.m.
Tuesday, August 5 – Practice #2, 3:00 p.m.
Wednesday, August 6 – Practice #3, 3:00 p.m.
Thursday, August 7 – Practice #4, 3:00 p.m.
Friday, August 8 – Practice #5, 3:00 p.m.
Saturday, August 9 – Practice #6, 8:30 a.m.
Saturday, August 9 – Practice #7, 7:00 p.m.

Monday, August 11 – Practice #8, 8:30 a.m.
Monday, August 11 – Practice #9, 7:00 p.m.
Tuesday, August 12 – Practice #10, 3:00 p.m.
Wednesday, August 13 – Practice #11, 8:30 a.m.
Wednesday, August 13 – Practice #12, 7:00 p.m.
Thursday, August 14 – Practice #13, 11:15 a.m.
Friday, August 15 – Practice #14, 8:30 a.m.
Friday, August 15 – Practice #15, 7:00 p.m.
Saturday, August 16 – Practice #16, 10:45 a.m.

On the UCLA campus:

Monday, August 18 – Practice #17, 3:00 p.m.
Tuesday, August 19 – Practice #18, 8:00 a.m.
Tuesday, August 19 – Practice #19, 7:00 p.m.
Wednesday, August 20 – Practice #20, 2:45 p.m.
Thursday, August 21 – Practice #21, 11:00 a.m.
Friday, August 22 – Practice #22, 9:00 a.m.
Saturday, August 23 – not open to the public.

Monday, August 25 – Regular season practice and media schedule begins.

Saturday, August 30 – Opening game, Virginia Cavaliers

In the past these times have been subject to change.

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>